An Open Letter to the Bangles

Since I was a kid I’ve had to listen to your song Manic Monday. Not all the time of course, but it’s one of those songs from which there is no escape. Some store/mall/escalator/waiting tune (I’m sure some bastard has recorded a pan pipe version) will detect that I haven’t heard it for some months and kindly play it so that I’ll walk around as an idiot and sing the only part I know.  Just another manic Monday/ Wish it was Sunday/’cause that’s my funday

Well, let me tell you a little about my Monday.

Tonight there was no power. It’s not a big problem, but it means that there is no working fan. When it has been 40 C during the day it gets a little warm for this Norwegian. We like it cold in our bedrooms. Still this is Juba, I know it’s not going to be like back home. You can’t stay here if you’re unable to deal with a little heat and the occasional power shortage. So I’m not complaining just telling you about a normal Monday in Juba.

We don’t have hot water where I live, but we don’t complain. We don t need hot water. We don’t want hot water. It’s cold water that we need. Today there was no water. No water = No shower (taking it slowly just in case a Bangles fan would happen to read this). So after sweating all night I just had to wash with the water left in my drinking bottle. I had, of course, just finished my supply of extra bottles.

Then there was no transport (nobody’s fault but mine). Still no problem, just that little extra waiting.

At the office I don’t have to mention that I had forgotten my adapter. All the sockets are three pins and all the equipment have two pins. A minor problem easily fixed with the help of a good colleague and a ballpoint pen. That there was no internet connection in the office today is also in character of Mondays in Juba.

So why I’m I writing this to you?

First I want to emphasize that I’m not complaining. My Monday is as expected in a city where everything has to be built from scratch and I really like it here. I just want you to stop whining. Please send out the message that Manic Monday is not to be played anymore. It’s a whiny song that gets stuck in my head and make me look like just as big a whiner as you. It’s embarrassing to walk around singing that line again and again.

Let’s look at the lyrics:

Have to catch an early train

Got to be to work by nine

And if I had an air-o-plane

I still couldn’t make it on time

‘Cause it takes me so long

Just to figure out what I’m gonna wear

Blame it on the train

But the boss is already there

THIS IS NOT WORTH COMPLAINING ABOUT!

So please let hereby January 25th 2010 be known as the Monday a commandment went out to the world. Thou shall not play that annoying song any more.

Yours sincerely

Audun Kolsrud Herning

Juba 25.01.2010

2 thoughts on “An Open Letter to the Bangles

    • Audun Herning

      Det var strøm på kontoret. Bare ikke nett. Brukte lunsjpausen til å gjøre klar post. Det hjalp. To timer etterpå kom nettet tilbake og jeg kunne publisere. Da ble alt mye bedre. Trodde det skulle bli en post i morra. Nå er jeg hjemme og vi har vann, støm og nett. Bare velstand med andre ord.

Legg igjen en kommentar

